Ancestral farm situated in the more than 1000-year-old village of Bybjerg, in a narrow street full of old houses.
Kjeld Larsen bestowed the farm on the society "Hestebedgårds Venner" ("Hestedbedgård´s Friends") in 2008 – since then, the association has established commemorative rooms, a museum and an exhibition room in the old cowshed.
It has been the ambition to preserve the ancient rural setting by emphasizing the old half-timbered buildings, the cobbled farmyard and the old country garden with a variety of old plants.
The farmhouse from 1849 contains the commemorative rooms, which furnished with pieces from the 19th century until the first half of the 20th century and an extensive collection of papers underlining the family´s unique interest in the history of Orø and in preserving this knowledge and making it accessible for future generations.
The old cowshed houses an exhibition room with changing exhibitions, arranged by Orø Museum in cooperation with the members of the society.
The garden can be used for a short rest.
The topics of the collection:
Commemorating Kjeld Larsen, the previous owner of the farm, and his parents, Olivia and Henrik Larsen; local history, agricultural history.
Changing exhibitions in the old cowshed, mainly on local history. Press cuttings, diaries, photos, post cards, Christmas cards.